Contact Information

Program in International and Comparative Law

Assistant Dean Edward Harris
565 W. Adams St., Room 320B
Chicago, IL 60661
P: (312) 906-5012

A A | Email | Print | Share


Program in International and Comparative Law

The IIT Chicago-Kent faculty includes nationally and internationally recognized scholars in the field of international and comparative law, and the faculty as a whole believes strongly in the importance of transnational legal studies for the future development of law in the United States.

International and Comparative Law Program faculty have significant experience working in, and with, other countries around the world. Faculty members have written books on European competition law and on the World Bank; led human rights fact-finding missions in the Middle East and Africa; conducted training sessions on war-crime trial law for judges, prosecutors, police investigators and defense attorneys in Serbia and Montenegro; developed Web-based teaching materials for international trade law; and helped organize efforts to combat money laundering in Ukraine.

Other significant international experience among the faculty includes serving as a law clerk at the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, representing the Republic of Korea in negotiations with the World Trade Organization, and helping develop environmental laws in Afghanistan.

Chicago-Kent's International and Comparative Law resident faculty

Bartram S. Brown

Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Program in International and Comparative Law
B.A., Government (Political Science), Harvard University; J.D., Columbia Law School; Ph.D., International Relations, Graduate Institute of International Studies (Geneva, Switzerland)

David J. Gerber

Distinguished Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Program in International and Comparative Law
B.A., Comparative Religions, Trinity College; M.A., Asian Studies; Yale University; J.D.; University of Chicago Law School

Sungjoon Cho

Professor of Law
LL.B., M.P.A. in Public Policy, Seoul National University (Korea); LL.M., International Economic Law; University of Michigan Law School, S.J.D., International Economic Law; Harvard Law School

Howard C. Eglit

Professor of Law
B.A., History, University of Michigan; J.D., University of Chicago Law School

Philip N. Hablutzel

Professor of Law and Director of the Institute of Illinois Business Law
B.A., Political Science, Louisiana State University; M.A., Political Science, University of Chicago; graduate study, Heidelberg University (Germany); J.D., University of Chicago Law School

Sarah K. Harding

Associate Professor of Law
B.A., History, McGill University (Canada); LL.B., Dalhousie Law School (Canada); B.C.L.; Oxford University (England); LL.M., Yale Law School

Henry H. Perritt, Jr.

Professor of Law and Director of the Graduate Program in Financial Services Law
S.B., Aeronautics and Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; S.M., Massachusetts Institute of Technology Sloan School of Management; J.D., Georgetown University Law Center

A. Dan Tarlock

Distinguished Professor of Law and Director of the Program in Environmental and Energy Law
A.B., Political Science, Stanford University; LL.B., Stanford Law School, 1965

Richard Warner

Professor of Law and Faculty Director of the Center for Law and Computers
B.A., English, Stanford University; Ph.D., Philosophy, University of California, Berkeley; J.D., University of Southern California Gould School of Law

Richard W. Wright

Distinguished Professor of Law
B.S., California Institute of Technology; J.D., Loyola Law School Los Angeles; LL.M., Harvard Law School


Other faculty members with international experience

Bernadette Atuahene
Edward C. Harris
Steven L. Harris
César F. Rosado Marzán