Contact Information

Office of Public Affairs

Susan O'Brien, Assistant Dean
565 W. Adams St., Room 669
Chicago, IL 60661
P: (312) 906-5250
F: (312) 906-5363

A A | Email | Print | Share

IIT Chicago-Kent News

Recent News Items from the Law School


  • Chicago-Kent to participate in the 2016 Inter-American Human Rights Moot Court Competition

    Rebecca Charles '17 and Geoffrey Curley '17 will represent Chicago-Kent College of Law in the 2016 Inter-American Human Rights Moot Court Competition May 22 to 27 in Washington, D.C. Held at American University Washington College of Law, the trilingual competition (English, Spanish and Portuguese) draws students from universities throughout the Americas and beyond.

  • Cook County Public Defender Amy Campanelli to address 2016 Chicago-Kent graduates

    1987 alumna will speak at May 15 commencement ceremonies

    Cook County Public Defender Amy Campanelli '87 will deliver the keynote address at the law school's 2016 Commencement on Sunday, May 15. Ms. Campanelli will be joined by two student speakers. Valedictorian Angelo Christopher will deliver the J.D. Commencement address, and Benjamin Mankut, a candidate for an LL.M. in International Intellectual Property Law, will deliver the graduate address. Graduates, their guests and members of the Chicago-Kent community are encouraged to share well wishes and photos on Twitter and Instagram using the hashtag #ckgrad.

  • Holly Pope '16 receives 2016 Sandra P. Zemm Prize

    Holly Pope '16 is the recipient of the 2016 Sandra P. Zemm Labor Law Prize. The prize was established in 2009 at Chicago-Kent by the law firm of Seyfarth Shaw LLP to honor the memory of Sandra P. Zemm, who died in September 2008 after a lengthy battle with cancer. Zemm Prize winners receive $1,000 along with the award.

  • Andrew Hemmer '16 named as a 2016 Equal Justice Works Fellow

    Andrew Hemmer, a third-year student at Chicago-Kent College of Law, has been selected as a 2016 Equal Justice Works Fellow. During his two-year fellowship period, Hemmer will work for Cabrini Green Legal Aid in Chicago, where he will establish a program that represents individuals whose vehicles have been impounded by the Chicago Police Department after they were arrested.

  • 2016 Louis Jackson National Student Writing Competition winners named

    The law firm of Jackson Lewis PC and Chicago-Kent's Institute for Law and the Workplace have announced the winners of the 2015-16 Louis Jackson National Student Writing Competition in Employment and Labor Law. Chris Schmidt, a student at the University of Nebraska College of Law, won top honors. Clare Horan of the University of Iowa College of Law and Nicholas J. Caplin of Pepperdine University School of Law won second and third place, respectively.

  • Chicago-Kent Bar and Gavel Society inducts 12 new members

    Twelve members of Chicago-Kent's Class of 2016 were inducted for membership at the Student Bar Association award ceremonies April 25 at the law school. Chicago-Kent's new Bar & Gavel members include Alexandra Brinkmeier, Peter Cheun, Tracey Harkins, Lindsay Hicks, Amber Lukowicz, Briana Mayes, Matthew McElwee, Ann Motto, Lydia Ness, Huy Nguyen, Andrew Sharp and Matthew Smart.