Contact Information

Office of Public Affairs

Gwendolyn Osborne, Director
565 W. Adams St., Room 665
Chicago, IL 60661
P: (312) 906-5251
F: (312) 906-5363

A A | Email | Print | Share

Weekly Media Advisory

CHICAGO—July 2015—IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law has experts available to discuss current legal issues. To reach experts, please call Gwen Osborne, director of public affairs, (312) 906-5251. Press releases and media advisories are available on our website:

Eurozone leaders have agreed to offer Greece a third financial bailout contingent on the Greek government passing a stringent set of reforms by July 15. IIT Chicago-Kent Professor William A. Birdthistle, who teaches courses in international business transactions, is available for media comment.

The 2015 Major League Baseball All-Star Game will be played July 14 at Great American Ball Park in Cincinnati. Sports attorney and IIT Chicago-Kent Adjunct Professor Eldon L. Ham is the author of All the Babe's Men: Baseball's Greatest Home Run Seasons and How They Changed America. Professor Ham can discuss how this year's All-Star season compares with the 1998 baseball season, which he calls "The Summer That Roared." That year, former players Mark McGuire and Sammy Sosa were locked in a home run battle. Professor Ham is available for media comment.

The U.S. Supreme Court's 2014–15 term has ended with landmark decisions on a variety of issues. Constitutional scholar and IIT Chicago-Kent Distinguished Professor Sheldon H. Nahmod is available for interviews about the Roberts court, highlights of this term, and key issues the justices will consider during the next term.

Burge Reparations: IIT Chicago-Kent Clinical Professor Daniel T. Coyne has been appointed by the Chicago City Council to serve as the Independent Third Party for the Burge Reparations Ordinance. Professor Coyne will evaluate reparations claims filed by people allegedly tortured by former Chicago Police Commander Jon Burge and his subordinates between 1972 and 1991 who have not previously filed claims with the city. He is available for interviews.

Women and Justice for the Poor: A History of Legal Aid, 1863–1945 by IIT Chicago-Kent Professor Felice Batlan explores the history of the development of legal aid in the United States, the significant and unknown role that women played as both providers and clients of legal aid, and the history of women lawyers in this country. Professor Batlan is available for interviews.