Past Winners of the Institute for Law and the Humanities Paper Prize Competition

2010 - 2011

The Institute for Law and the Humanities (ILH) is pleased to announce the two winners of the 2011 ILH paper prize competition.

The first prize winner ($500) is Alexander Rabanal, for his paper Constitutional Discourse in the Dyer Anti-Lynching Bill Debate. This paper is an excellent example of "doing" American constitutional history. It is extremely well written and insightful.

The second prize winner ($250) is Stephen Wauck, for his paper Princess Soraya and Justice Scalia: A Mismatched Couple. This paper is also very well written and engages in a thoughtful comparative jurisprudential approach to constitutional interpretation.

Congratulations to both of these deserving winners who were up against tough competition.

2009 - 2010

A committee consisting of Professors Batlan, Schmidt and Nahmod awards the first prize ($500) to Keith Syverson, Class of 2011, for his very well-written, comprehensive and thoughtful paper titled Freedom to Express a Biological Construct: The Case for First Amendment protection of BioArt. In this paper Mr. Syverson confronts difficult issues at the intersection of art, science and the First Amendment.

The committee awards second prize ($250) to Jerry Thomas, Class of 2011, for his creative paper titled Queer Poetry and Sex-Neutrality: Toward a More Comprehensive Legal Theory of Sexual Citizenship. This paper includes not only legal analysis but also intriguing interpretations of "queer poetry" and their implications. Mr. Thomas's provocative paper is humanistic in every sense of the term.

2008 - 2009

The first place prize of $500 goes to Moshe Marvit for his paper On the Greatest Property Transfer that Wasn't: How the National Labor Relations Act Chose Employee Rights and the Supreme Court Chose Property Rights.

The second place prize of $250 each (a tie) goes to Stacy Wilkins for her paper Building the Wall Between Church and State: How Anti-Catholic Sentiment Has Shaped Establishment Clause Jurisprudence and to Matthew Towey for his paper Engineering the Future of IIT and the Bronzeville Neighborhood: The Illinois Institute of Technology's Decision Not to Relocate From the South Side of Chicago to the Suburbs.

2007 - 2008

Matthew Stone

The first prize paper, A Comparison of Free Speech in American and Jewish Law, was written by Matthew Stone. This well-written paper carefully and thoughtfully examines the marked differences in free speech approaches of two very different jurisprudential systems. The paper then persuasively explains the political, historical and religious sources of those differences in a very knowledgeable manner.

Laurie Drum

The second prize paper, A Foreign Exchange: The Hidden Costs of Advocating Legislative Protections for Mail-Order Brides, was written by Laurie Drum. This well-written paper studies the policies and underlying assumptions of the International Marriage Broker Regulation Act. The paper goes on, interestingly and convincingly, to connect the Act to domestic violence in the United States and to feminist theory in general.

2006 - 2007

Frank Hill

Restorative Justice: Sketching a New Legal Discourse

Publication of Frank Hill's article is forthcoming in International Journal of Punishment and Sentencing.

Jonathan Lahn

The Demise of the Law-Finding Jury in America and the Birth of American Legal Science: History and its Challenge for Contemporary Society

2004 - 2005

Tonya Newman

Chicago Clubwomen and Progressive Era Politics: Gender and the Pursuit of Power