U.S. Supreme Court Bar inducts 29 IIT Chicago-Kent alumni

Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., administers the oath

Friday, March 29, 2013

Twenty-nine IIT Chicago-Kent alumni were admitted to practice before the U.S. Supreme Court on March 4. The induction ceremony was conducted by Chief Justice John G. Roberts, Jr., who administered the oath to the group. Associate Justices Antonin Scalia, Anthony Kennedy, Clarence Thomas, Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Elena Kagan were also present.

IIT Chicago-Kent alumni, Dean Harold Krent and Professor Carolyn Shapiro at the U.S. Supreme Court before swearing-in ceremony
IIT Chicago-Kent alumni, Dean Harold Krent and Professor Carolyn Shapiro at the U.S. Supreme Court before swearing-in ceremony

Inductees, who graduated from IIT Chicago-Kent between 1978 and 2008, came from California, Georgia,  Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Nevada, New York, Texas and the District of Columbia and were moved in admission by Dean Harold J. Krent, who has argued before the U.S. Supreme Court.

Organized by the IIT Chicago-Kent Alumni Association, the swearing-in was the culmination of a weekend of activities in Washington, D.C. On the day before the ceremony, Dean Harold J. Krent hosted a special 125th Anniversary dinner at Sequoia Restaurant in Georgetown attended by inductees, their families and guests, and IIT Chicago-Kent alumni from the Washington, D.C., area. Professor Carolyn Shapiro, director of the Institute on the Supreme Court of the United States (ISCOTUS), spoke about her experiences at the Court as a clerk for Associate Justice Stephen G. Breyer and about the institute's mission and programs. (Professor Shapiro, a graduate of the University of Chicago Law School, is also a former student of Associate Justice Elena Kagan.)

Prior to the swearing-in ceremony on Monday, Justice Kagan spoke with IIT Chicago-Kent inductees and their guests. There was a breakfast reception for the group. Later that day, several members of the group took an official U.S. Capitol tour.

To qualify for admission to the Bar of the Supreme Court, candidates must be admitted to practice in the highest court of a state, commonwealth, territory, possession, or the District of Columbia for at least three years immediately before the date of the application. Applicants must not have been the subject of any adverse disciplinary action during that time and must appear to the Court to be of good moral and professional character. Each applicant must submit two letters of recommendation from members of the Bar of the Supreme Court who are personally acquainted with the candidates but are not relatives.

IIT Chicago-Kent alumni who are newly inducted to the U.S. Supreme Court Bar are listed below:  
  • Natalie Ann Bautista '01
  • Thomas Richard Carpenter '93
  • Kimberly Ann Coogan '93
  • Mark Russell Danielson '90
  • Christina M. Dardick '95
  • Theresa Lynn Davis '94
  • Cary Emmett Donham '88
  • Tyler Lee Duvall '91
  • Tammy L. Evans '00
  • Jessica Kelly Fender '08
  • Courtney Fong '07
  • Jamie Lauren Gingold '01
  • Channing Blair Hesse '94
  • Dana Elise Lobelle Hofferber '08
  • Mark Henry Ishu '08
  • Christopher Walter Jacob '09
  • William B. Kelley '87
  • Megan Lyn Kelly '95
  • Judy Koster '78
  • Kyong Il Lee '95
  • L. Eric Loewe '87
  • Charles Edward Moore '88
  • Joseph B. Moore III '05
  • Mary Terese Nicolau '85
  • Katherine Anne O'Rourke '00
  • Hector Joseph Rodriguez '90
  • Kathleen Theresa Ulbert '91
  • Lisa Jane Ulrich '00
  • Catherine Jane Wright-Mitchell '00


Founded in 1888, IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law is celebrating "125 years of distinctive legal education."

IIT Chicago-Kent College is the law school of Illinois Institute of Technology, a private, Ph.D.-granting institution with programs in engineering, psychology, architecture, business, design and law. Founded in 2011, IIT Chicago-Kent's Institute on the Supreme Court of the United States combines the law school's core strengths: cutting-edge legal scholarship and technological innovation. The institute has three main components: the ISCOTUS Academic Center, the Oyez Project and the Civic Education Project.