Cole Garrett receives the 2015 Dolores K. Hanna Trademark Prize

Thursday, August 13, 2015
Cole Garrett is the 2015 Dolores K. Hanna Trademark Prize recipient.
Cole Garrett is the 2015 Dolores K. Hanna Trademark Prize recipient.

Cole Garrett is the 2015 Dolores K. Hanna Trademark Prize recipient. The prize was established at the law school in 2006 by the law firm of K & L Gates LLP (formerly Bell, Boyd & Lloyd LLC) to honor Dolores K. Hanna, a 1952 IIT Chicago-Kent graduate who served as the firm's special trademark counsel. Hanna retired from active practice in 2006.

The prize is awarded at the end of the school year to an IIT Chicago-Kent student based on outstanding performance in an intellectual property course. Recipients are selected by faculty who teach in the law school's Program in Intellectual Property Law.

Awardee Cole Garrett received his J.D. with a certificate in intellectual property law in May 2015. He completed his undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering at Purdue University.

At IIT Chicago-Kent, he served as a Chicago Intellectual Property Colloquium fellow, and as executive articles editor and associate editor of the Chicago-Kent Journal of Intellectual Property. Garrett was a member of the law school teams that participated in the 2014 and 2015 International Trademark Association's Saul Lefkowitz Moot Court Regional competitions. He was a member of the Intellectual Property Law Society. Garrett worked as an associate specializing in intellectual property litigation at Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP. He also clerked at the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation and completed internships with Amin Talati, Attorneys at Law, and with General Dynamics Land Systems.

Dolores Hanna practiced intellectual property law with distinction for more than 50 years. Prior to joining Bell, Boyd & Lloyd in 2000, Hanna practiced at the law firm of Hill & Simpson and also served as trademark counsel for Kraft Inc. From 1985 to 1987, she chaired the federal Trademark Review Commission, and recommended changes that were enacted into the Trademark Law Revision Act of 1988, the first comprehensive update of trademark law since passage of the Lanham Act in 1946. Active in local, county and state organizations, Hanna has served as president of the Intellectual Property Law Association of Chicago, the Women's Bar Association of Illinois, the Women's Bar Foundation, and the Cook County Court Watchers. She is also a past president of the International Trademark Association.

Founded in 1888, IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law is the law school of Illinois Institute of Technology, also known as Illinois Tech, a private, technology-focused, research university offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in engineering, science, architecture, business, design, human sciences, applied technology, and law.

IIT Chicago-Kent currently offers a J.D. certificate program in intellectual property law and in 2002 became the first American law school to offer a one-year LL.M. degree in international intellectual property law.

In the most recent U.S. News & World Report graduate school rankings, IIT Chicago-Kent's Program in Intellectual Property Law is ranked seventh in the nation.