Chicago-Kent Order of the Coif chapter inducts 23 new members

Spring 2017 graduates selected were among the top 10 percent of their class

Thursday, November 30, 2017

The Chicago-Kent College of Law chapter of the Order of the Coif inducted 23 new members November 27 during award ceremonies at the law school. The Order of the Coif is a national legal honor society that recognizes superior scholarship and promotes the ethical standards of the legal profession.

Chicago-Kent was unanimously elected to membership in the Order of the Coif in 1989. The law school faculty selects members from the top 10 percent of each graduating class. Professor Felice Batlan is president of Chicago-Kent's Order of the Coif chapter.

The most recent honorees earned their Juris Doctor degrees from Chicago-Kent College of Law on May 14, 2017. Alumni selected for membership include Caitlin M. Ajax, Jessica E. Bihl, David E. Braden, Terrence R. Brennan, Jenna Bressel, Nicholas J. DeRyke, Maxwell Eichenberger, Jennifer Ellenby, Alexander J. Halaska, Bryce T. Hensley, Gregory M. Huffman, Kyle J. Jacob, Alyssa M. Jutovsky, Jenna Kim, Jeffrey T. Michalik, Paige A. Olsen, Symone D. Shinton, Alexander Sivoronov, Theresa L. Starck, Schuyler R. Ufkes, Karen E. Vaysman, Margaret A. Wojkowski, and Karolen S. Younan. 

2017 Order of the Coif inductees
From left: Maxwell Eichenberger, Paige Olsen, Karolen Younan, Jeffrey Michalik, Karen Vaysman, Schuyler Ufkes, Symone Shinton, Jenna Kim, Bryce Hensley, Jenna Bressel, David Braden and Alyssa Jutovsky, all members of the Class of 2017, were in inducted into the Chicago-Kent Chapter of the Order of the Coif at a ceremony in November.

Not pictured: Caitlin Ajax, Jessica Bihl, Terrence Brennan,  Nicholas DeRyke, Jennifer Ellenby, Alexander Halaska, Gregory Huffman, Kyle Jacob, Alexander Sivoronov, Theresa Starck and Margaret Wojkowski


Founded in 1888, Chicago-Kent College of Law is the law school of Illinois Institute of Technology, also known as Illinois Tech, a private, technology-focused, research university offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in engineering, science, architecture, business, design, human sciences, applied technology, and law.