Intellectual Property Law Faculty

Program in Intellectual Property Law

Chicago-Kent's full-time and adjunct IP faculty bring expertise and practical experience to a wide range of intellectual property issues—everything from copyright to genetic technologies, trademark, patents, trade secrets, telecommunications, electronic technology, Internet security and computer science. They have advised Congress and the World Health Organization. They have researched and published on such topics as regulating business competition on the Internet; meeting the needs of self-represented litigants through technology; IP issues related to legal documents in electronic formats; ways the Internet, technological development and globalization challenge existing legal paradigms; and the legal treatment of cultural objects. They also have a wealth of real-life experience, ranging from former chief IP counsel for Anheuser-Busch to a current U.S. District Court judge. They have coached moot court teams for IP competitions.

And they provide students with the context, knowledge and skills they need to comprehensively prepare for the practice of intellectual property law.

Full-time IP faculty

Lori B. Andrews
Distinguished Professor of Law and Director of the Institute for Science, Law and Technology
B.A., Psychology, Yale University; J.D.; Yale Law School

Graeme B. Dinwoodie
Global Professor of Intellectual Property Law and Co-Director of the Program in Intellectual Property Law
LL.B., University of Glasgow; LL.M., Harvard Law School; J.S.D., Burton Fellow in Intellectual Property Law, Columbia Law School

Sarah K. Harding
Associate Professor of Law
B.A., History, McGill University; LL.B., Dalhousie Law School; B.C.L., Oxford University; LL.M., Yale Law School

Edward Lee
Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Program in Intellectual Property Law
B.A., Philosophy; Williams College; J.D.; Harvard Law School

Henry H. Perritt, Jr.
Professor of Law and Director of the Graduate Program in Financial Services Law
S.B., Aeronautics & Astronautics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; S.M., Massachusetts Institute of Technology Sloan School of Management; J.D., Georgetown University Law Center; 1975

Mickie A. Piatt
Associate Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Program in Intellectual Property Law
B.A., Linguistics, University of Texas at Austin; M.L.S., Information Science/Automation, University of Texas at Austin, School of Library and Information Science; J.D., University of Texas at Austin School of Law

Greg Reilly
Assistant Professor of Law and Co-Director of the Program in Intellectual Property Law
B.A., American Government, Georgetown University; J.D., Harvard Law School

Richard Warner
Professor of Law and Faculty Director of the Center for Law and Computers
B.A., English, Stanford University; Ph.D., Philosophy, University of California, Berkeley; J.D., University of Southern California Gould School of Law

IP Fellows

Runhua Wang
IP Fellow
B.S. in Industrial Engineering & LL.B., Beihang University, China; LL.M. & J.S.D., University of Illinois College of Law

Adjunct faculty

  • Alison Baldwin

  • Cheryl Balough

  • Robert M. Barrett

  • Robert R. Benjamin

  • Beverly A. Berneman

  • Ashly Boesche

  • Joseph J. Bogdan

  • Patrick G. Burns

  • Scott W. Burt

  • Christopher Carani

  • Frederick H. Cohen

  • Loletta L. Darden

  • Mary Dicig

  • Thomas J. Donovan

  • Jason A. Engel

  • Vincent J. Gnoffo

  • Jason Gordon

  • Tim Grochocinski

  • Eldon Ham

  • Neil S. Hirshman

  • Bradley J. Hulbert

  • David Marr

  • Holly K. McClellan

  • Terence P. McElwee

  • Laura Beth Miller

  • Mariano Municoy

  • Valerie Neymeyer-Tynkov

  • Kevin Noonan

  • Steven Odre

  • Gavin O'Keefe

  • Joseph Oldaker​​​​​​​

  • Todd S. Parkhurst

  • ​​​​​​​Phillip Pippenger

  • Debra I. Quentel

  • Joseph F. Schmidt

  • W. Todd Schoettelkotte

  • Robert Sloate

  • Peter J. Strand

  • Robert A. Surrette

  • ​​​​​​​Eric Sutton 

  • Steven R. Trybus

  • Melissa A. Vallone

  • ​​​​​​​Alain Villeneuve

  • Ujjval Vyas

  • Adam S. Weiss

  • John M. Whealan

  • Joleen Willis