Centennial Lecture

The Centennial Visitor lecture series was inaugurated in fall 1987 as part of a yearlong celebration to mark the founding of Chicago College of Law, forerunner of IIT Chicago-Kent, in 1888.

Vince Warren will give the 2022 Centennial Visitor Lecture. He is a leading expert on racial injustice and discriminatory policing, and oversees the CCR's litigation and advocacy work, using international and domestic law to challenge human rights abuses, including racial, gender and LGBTQIA injustice. Under his leadership, the Center for Constitutional Rights successfully challenged the NYPD’s stop-and-frisk policy and profiling of Muslims, ended long-term solitary confinement in California’s Pelican Bay Prison, and established the persecution of LGBTQIA people as a crime against humanity. The Center for Constitutional Rights is currently challenging the abuse of migrants at the U.S. Southern Border, the Muslim Ban, the torture of prisoners in Abu Ghraib, and the criminalization of transgender people, as well as providing legal and policy support to Black, Brown, and Native organizers across the country.  More information about Vince Warren and his lecture is available at this link.

Centennial Visitors have included

  • Dean Angela Onwuachi-Willig, Boston University School of Law
  • Dean Heather Gerken, Yale School of Law
  • Professor Douglas S. Massey, Princeton University
  • Harold Koh, Sterling Professor of International Law at Yale Law School
  • Linda Greenhouse, Knight Distinguished Journalist in Residence and Joseph Goldstein Lecturer in Law at Yale Law School
  • Vicki C. Jackson, Thurgood Marshall Professor of Constitutional Law at Harvard Law School
  • Dr. William A. Galston, The Brookings Institution
  • Dean Erwin Chemerinsky, University of California Irvine College of Law
  • Professor Austin D. Sarat, Amherst College
  • Dean Martha Minow of Harvard Law School
  • Professor Jagdish N. Bhagwati of the School of International and Public Affairs, Columbia University
  • Professor William Eskridge of Yale Law School
  • Professor Elinor Ostrom of Indiana University, Bloomington
  • Professor Hendrik Hartog of Princeton University
  • Professor Jeremy Waldron of Columbia University
  • Professor John Searle of the University of California, Berkeley
  • Professor Daniel Farber of the University of California, Berkeley
  • Professor Daniel Kahneman of Princeton University
  • Professor Stanley Katz of Princeton University
  • Professor Douglass North of Washington University
  • Professor Carol Greenhouse of Indiana University Bloomington
  • Professor Thomas C. Grey of Stanford Law School
  • Professor Robert C. Post of the University of California, Berkeley
  • Professor Saul Levmore of the University of Virginia School of Law
  • Professor Margaret Jane Radin of Stanford Law School
  • Professor John Hart Ely of Stanford Law School
  • The Honorable Stephen M. Schwebel of the International Court of Justice at The Hague, Netherlands
  • The Honorable Harry T. Edwards of the U.S. Court of Appeals for District of Columbia Circuit
  • Professor Gerald Gunther of Stanford Law School


Vince Warren, the 2022 Centennial Visitor Lecturer