Program in Labor and Employment Law

A variety of scholarships are made available to students in IIT Chicago-Kent's Program in Labor and Employment Law through the generosity of the Martin H. Malin Institute for Law and the Workplace's many members, alumni, and friends. These include scholarships named for and funded by individuals and organizations, a general Law and the Workplace Scholarship Fund, an Organized Labor Scholarship Fund, several endowed scholarship funds, and special need-based scholarships for students participating in labor and employment law externships.

Students enrolled in the Program in Labor and Employment Law are eligible for scholarship support, based on academic performance, prior experience in labor and employment relations, and financial need. There are four types of scholarships:

  • Named Scholarships are supported by members of the Institute for Law and the Workplace, alumni, and friends. Current named scholarships include:
    • Clark Baird Smith Scholarship
    • Engler Callaway Baasten & Sraga, LLC Scholarship

    • Exelon Corporation Scholarship
    • Franczek, P.C. Scholarship
    • Illinois Fraternal Order of Police Scholarship in Honor of Thomas F. Sonneborn
    • Indiana, Illinois, Iowa Foundation for Fair Contracting Scholarship
    • International Union of Operating Engineers Local 150 Haymarket Square Scholarship
    • Joshua Holleb Scholarship
    • Kyle Johansen Scholarship
    • Laner Muchin Scholarship in Memory of Robert S. Letchinger
    • Littler Mendelson P.C. Scholarship
    • Louis Jackson Memorial Scholarship (Jackson Lewis LLP)
    • MPK Scholarship
    • Neal, Gerber & Eisenberg LLP Scholarship

    • Burton S. Odelson Fellowship
    • Ogletree Deakins Scholarship
    • Seyfarth Shaw Scholarship
    • SmithAmundsen Scholarship
    • Stickler & Nelson Scholarship
  • Law and the Workplace Scholarships are funded by Martin H. Malin Institute for Law and the Workplace members, alumni, and friends of Chicago-Kent's labor law programs.
  • Alumni Labor Law Scholarships are funded by IIT Chicago-Kent alumni and awarded to entering first-year students with interests and backgrounds in Labor and Employment Law.
  • Organized Labor Scholarships are funded by labor unions and union law firm members of the Martin H. Malin Institute for Law and the Workplace for students who have ties to organized labor.
  • Externship Scholarships are provided to students enrolled in the labor/employment law externship and are awarded based on financial need.

​​​​​Please click on this link to meet the recipients of the scholarships for 2021–2022. 

Endowment Funds

Lawrence Doppelt Endowment, established in memory of Lawrence Doppelt, a labor law professor at Chicago-Kent, supports an annual scholarship to a student who has excelled in labor law.

Burton S. Odelson Endowment, established by Burt Odelson '72, provides funding for the Odelson Fellowship.

Masters Family Endowment, established by the Honorable Edward Masters '72, provides support for Institute for Law and the Workplace programs.

Kenneth M. Piper Endowment, established by Mrs. Kenneth M. Piper, honors the memory of her husband who was a senior labor relations executive with Motorola and Bausch & Lomb. The fund supports the annual Kenneth M. Piper Lecture.

Stickler & Nelson Endowment, established by the law firm Stickler & Nelson, funds scholarships for students in the certificate program.

Mary Rose Strubbe Endowment, established by alumni and friends honoring Professor Mary Rose Strubbe on her retirement, funds the annual Mary Rose Strubbe Prize for legal writing in labor and employment law.