IIT Chicago-Kent Order of the Coif chapter to induct new members

Thursday, October 14, 2010

The IIT Chicago-Kent College of Law chapter of the Order of the Coif will induct 28 new members November 2 during award ceremonies in the Walnut Room of the Hotel Allegro in Chicago. The Order of the Coif is a national legal honor society that recognizes superior scholarship and promotes the ethical standards of the legal profession.

Chicago-Kent was unanimously elected to membership in the Order of the Coif in 1989. The law school faculty selects members from the top 10 percent of each graduating class. Professor Howard C. Eglit is president of Chicago-Kent's Order of the Coif chapter.

The most recent honorees earned their Juris Doctor degrees from Chicago-Kent College of Law at the end of the spring 2010 semester. Ashley L. Christensen, Jessica L. Collett, Rebecca L. Davis, Janna H. Dettmer, Jocelyn D. Floyd, Paul J.Forster, Douglas R. Garmager, Michael T. Gustafson, Kylie M. Hannan, Justin D. Haselden, Victoria S. Hayes, Trevor W. Holmes, Sean J. Jungels and Sarah R. Kaplan will be inducted into the Order of the Coif. Also selected for membership are Brian S. Kaunelis, Adam R. Kreis, Catherine J. Krenz, Chloe A. Long, Jennifer L. Maples, Jeff J. Mikrut, Scott D. Salmon, Richard G. Shulman, Vincent M. Smolczynski, Tamara J. Tarazi, Elizabeth A. Thompson, Rue K. Toland, Patrick Wartan and Marni S. Zaideman.

Chicago-Kent College of Law is the law school of Illinois Institute of Technology, a private, Ph.D.-granting institution with programs in engineering, psychology, architecture, business, design and law. With more than 1,100 students, Chicago-Kent offers full-time and part-time J.D. and LL.M. degree programs as well as joint-degree programs with other IIT units, including Stuart School of Business.